Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Below are details of the different domains within GeCIP.

If you are accessing this page from inside the research environment, the email links will not work - you should instead navigate to it outside of the environment.

GeCIP ArmDomainLead ResearchersNHS GMC RepresentativeDetailed research planData access

Rare Disease

CardiovascularProf Bernard Keavney – University of ManchesterDr Ed Blair – Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation TrustApprovedGranted
Endocrine and metabolismProf Stephen O’Rahilly – University of Cambridge 
Gastroenterology and HepatologyProfessor Holm Uhlig - University of OxfordRichard Thompson – King’s College London

Dr Patrick Dubois – King’s College Hospital
Hearing and sightProf Andrew Webster (Sight) – University College LondonProf Graeme Black – University of ManchesterApprovedGranted
Dr Mike Bowl (Hearing) - MRC Harwell Institute 
Dr Sally Dawson (Hearing) - University College London Ear Institute
Immune disordersProf Sophie Hambleton – Newcastle University
Non-malignant haematological and haemostasis disordersProf Willem Ouwehand – University of Cambridge
Dr Judith Marsh – Kings College Hospital
Inherited cancer predispositionDr Clare Turnbull – Queen Mary University of LondonMarc Tischkowitz – University of CambridgeApprovedGranted
MusculoskeletalProf Muhammad Kassim Javaid – University of OxfordProf Muhammad Kassim Javaid – University of OxfordApprovedGranted
NeurologyProf Henry Houlden* – University College LondonProf Huw Morris – University College LondonApprovedGranted
Prof Patrick Chinnery  – University of Cambridge
Paediatric sepsisProf Michael Levin – Imperial College

PaediatricsDr Tim Barrett – Birmingham University


Dr Phil Beales – University College London
RenalDr Daniel Gale – University College LondonDr Anna Koziell – King’s College LondonApprovedGranted
Prof Robert Kleta University College London
RespiratoryDr Claire Shovlin – Imperial College LondonTracy Higgins – Imperial CollegeApprovedGranted
SkinProf John McGrath – King’s College LondonProf Sean Whittaker – King’s College LondonApprovedGranted


Breast cancerDr Nicholas Turner – Institute of Cancer Research
Childhood solid cancersDr Thomas Jacques – University College LondonDr Alex Henderson – Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Foundation TrustApprovedGranted
Colorectal cancerProf Ian Tomlinson – University of BirminghamMohammad Ilyas – University of NottinghamApprovedGranted
Haematological malignancyProf Anna Schuh – University of Oxford Paresh Vyas – University of Oxford ApprovedGranted
Lung cancerDr Charles Swanton* – The Francis Crick InstituteProf Fiona Blackhall - The Christie NHS Foundation Trust ApprovedGranted
Ovarian and endometrial CancerDr James Brenton – University of Cambridge and Cancer Research UK
Dr David Church – University of Oxford
Neuroendocrine tumoursDr Chrissie Thirlwell* – University College London
Pan-cancerProf Dion Morton – University Hospitals Birmingham
GliomaProf Keyoumars Ashkan  King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Head and neck cancerProf Terry Jones – University of Liverpool
Dr Matt Lechner – University College London
Dr Liam Masterson – University of Cambridge
Upper gastrointestinal cancerProf John Bridgewater – University College London
Renal cell carcinomaDr James Larkin – Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust Dr Anna Koziell – King's College LondonApprovedGranted
MelanomaDr Paul Lorigan – The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
Testicular cancerDr Andrew Protheroe – Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
Cancer of unknown primaryDr Harpreet Wasan – Imperial College London
Prostate cancerProf Johann de Bono – Institute of Cancer ResearchDr Mark Linch – University College LondonApprovedGranted
SarcomaProf Adrienne Flanagan – University College London

Cross Cutting

Education and trainingDr Anneke Seller – Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Electronic health recordsProf Harry Hemingway – University College London
Dr. Stefanie Mueller - University College London
Enabling rare disease translational genomics via advanced analytics and international interoperabilityDr Eamonn Sheridan – University of Leeds

Dr Michael Simpson – King’s College London
Ethics and social scienceProf Mike Parker – University of Oxford
Dr. Anneke Lucassen - University of Southampton
Functional EffectsDr Ewan Birney – European Bioinformatics Institute
Prof. Christine Orengo - University College London
Health EconomicsDr Sarah Wordsworth – University of OxfordProf Ian Tomlinson – University of BirminghamApprovedGranted
Integrated Pathogens and Mobile Elements

Prof Colin Cooper* – University of East Anglia

Dr Gkikas Magiorkinis (subdomain lead) – Athens University
Quantitative methods, machine learning and functional genomicsProf Martin Tobin – University of LeicesterDiana Baralle – University of SouthamptonApprovedGranted
Population genomicsDr Richard Durbin – Wellcome Trust Sanger InstituteJean-Baptiste Cazier – University of BirminghamApprovedGranted
Stratified healthcare and therapeutic innovationProf Sir Mark Caulfield – Queen Mary, University of London
Prof Sir Munir Pirmohamed - University of Liverpool
Enhanced InterpretationProf Bill Newman – Manchester UniversityDominic McMullan – Birmingham Women’s NHS Foundation TrustApprovedGranted

*GeCIP Board representatives

  • No labels